top of page
  • Writer's pictureRose Érimos

When Characters Argue

~If you know, you know~

Nothing is more annoying than creating a climax scene only to change it midway through because the main character disagrees with the chosen path. You might be wondering how that is even possible when I am the author and creator of said character. Creating scenery and plot around the action comes easy for me, especially when it's time to bring everything together. However, when I'm creating a particular scene I'm not always thinking of the character's character. The image in my head can and does often change when I sit down to write it. This is due to the differing headspaces. You have the headspace of a narrator and the headspace of the actual character.


Unfortunately, they aren't always in sync and it goes a little something like this:

Author: "So, I need you(Character A) to just stay out of the way because this thing needs to happen to Character B."


Character A: "Why?"

Author: "I just told you."

Character A: "Yeah, but if Character B and I are as close as you say we are then I would pick up on their struggles and wouldn't leave them alone for this thing to happen."


Author: "I don't care how close you are. You're going to stay out of the way so that this event can happen to Character B"


Character A: "That doesn't make sense. It is literally out of my character not to notice."

Author: "This is happening whether you like it or not."

The headspace of the character ALWAYS wins.

Character A: "So about that thing that's supposed to happen to Character B?"


Author: -_-

16 views0 comments
bottom of page